Spring Flowers!..or Veggies

Hi Everyone! Wow..is it just me or did April fly by! I can’t believe it’s already May.  I’ll be doing an April favorites post soon, but I just need a chance to get it together.  Today I am going to talk about our vegetable garden and flowers in our yard.  Every year we spend too much money on plants and veggies for our yard, but in the end it’s all worth it because it is so pretty.

Last year, Andy and I put together two raised beds.  One is in the backyard and it has all kinds of flowers in it.  When it’s fresh, it’s gorgeous..however.. we cannot seem to keep the dog out of it.  He seems to think that is were he needs to bury his tennis balls.  So, if we don’t let him take them out, it’s not a problem..but on the off chance that we forget…he is right  in that bad trying to bury his tennis ball.  Any suggestions on how to keep him out?!

The second bed we built is in our side yard and it is my vegetable garden.  Our harvest last year was not very successful, but I feel like I may have planted too late.  This year..I put the seeds in the ground at the end of March (we have an early last frost date…I was about 2 weeks early since we have had such a mild winter) and the buds and leaves are really starting to grow.

I’m super excited because we have planted so many exciting things.  In our bed we have corn, squash, zucchini, green beans, pumpkin, watermelon, cucumber, and artichoke.  I’ve probably way overplanted, but I just couldn’t help myself.  I love fresh veggies out of the garden.  We also have a variety of herbs in pots: oregano, thyme, basil, and parsley.

On our front porch, in pots we have rosemary, strawberries, lettuce, and a pot of snapdragons.

Elsewhere in our front yard we this lantana bush.  It didn’t flower last year (it was transplanted from someone else last year), but I’m hoping it has found it’s bearings and will flower beautifully this year.

We also have two banana trees in our front yard.  The both died off to hardly anything over winter and I was really worried about them coming back..but here they are in all their glory.

In our backyard we have NO GRASS (thanks to the dog and his need to run like mad through the yard), but we have a few Hostas, some daylilies, and our Hydrangea in memory of our dog Racer who passed away a few years ago.

So that’s our yard.  I am not a yard working person by any means, but the satisfaction I get seeing everything put together makes it all worth it.

What about you? Do you enjoy working in the yard?  Do you have a veggie garden?  I’d love to hear about your yard and what you’re growing in the comments below! 

Leave a Reply

