Hot Summer’s Night 5k

DISCLAIMER: This post is REALLY long.  Sorry guys, I just got to typing and never seemed to find a stopping point. Thanks for your patience if you make it through.

Trying to write this today makes me realize why I should have written it a week ago.  It’s a lot harder to remember all the details a week later.  I’ll try my best though and we’ll see how it goes.

I was really excited about this race and a little nervous.  This is the first 5k since I really started running regularly this summer and I wanted to see if I had improved any.  My original goal was to run this whole race without walking.  However, as I got closer, I knew that probably wasn’t going to happen.  Either way, I did want to finish in under 35 minutes.  My best 5k so far was a 36:20 and I knew I could do better than that.  I have done many 5k’s on the treadmill in the 34’s..so that is what I was aiming for.

I was also excited for this race because it was an evening race and I’ve never done an evening race.  It was weird all day though because I was particular about what I ate and tried hard to make sure I stayed hydrated throughout the day.

So..we got off work at 6 and wanted to be downtown around 6:30.  We got home, changed, fed the dog, and got downtown as quick as possible.  We walked around for a minute to find the starting line and then used the rest of the time to warm up and get ready.  The kids fun run was starting when we got there, but because we got their late..we weren’t really able to watch since we wanted to warm up.  Anyway, we line up and wait to get started.  I turned the apps on my phone (music, mapmyrun, etc) so that I was ready to go.  That did not go as planned.

efcc5433-6b6e-449b-a560-bcd1c4cfbbd43f685cdf-605b-423a-8fdb-418b0d1b1abc

As soon as they started the race (I can never remember how they start races…do they yell, blow a horn, a whistle…I have no idea), I started running and all of a sudden my music started shuffling.  I forgot to lock my screen when I started my music! That was the most annoying thing ever..so for the first few seconds of my run I was fiddling with my phone (that was in my armband) trying to get it back to the song I wanted and locked. Finally I can focus on my run.

The course seemed very flat which was nice.  There was a photographer just shy of the first mile and I was still feeling good so I smiled at the camera like a complete dork.  I figured my racing pics are normally me sweating like mad and almost dieing..so might as well take advantage of one that gets me while I’m still fresh.  It was way hot out though and I was ready for even just a sip of water by the first water stop at mile 1.  Sadly, it was not in the cards for me because they were out of cups : (  Around this point I saw the 1 mile clock as well and I was well under a minute of my goal time for that split.  I was happy, but I also knew that meant it was going to be a lot harder for me to run the whole thing.

KB_Running_Hot

I kept running along and pushing myself.  I told myself that I knew I could run 15 minutes outside and so mentally I just kept pushing myself to go past that.  There was definately no walking before that no matter how I felt.  At one point though I looked behind me and there weren’t many people.  That kind of messed with my confidence.  I don’t want to be last.  I know I won’t be first, but I don’t want to be last.  So that really started to push me to run harder.

Right about mile 2, per the race clock, I was still about a minute under my goal split time. However, I was about to die.  I was crazy hot and starting to cramp up.  So I grabbed a quick water mid jog and ran through a sprinkler they had setup (this should be at every summertime race btw).  I made myself run through the 2 mile mark and just past and then I let myself have a short walking break.  One thing I am proud of, even though I walked some in this race, I didn’t walk nearly as much as previous races.  I don’t normally even remember how many walk breaks I take, but this race, I took 3 very short walk breaks in the last 1.1 mile of the race.

We turned a corner and there was the finish line.  Still in the distance, but there.  I took my last short walking break and then promised myself I would run to the end.  So I did.  Normally I can give it a good kick at the end, but I was lucky to just keep moving at this point.  I really tried to run harder so I could get an even better time, but there was just nothing left in the tank.  I crossed the line at 33:28.  Almost a full 3 minutes quicker than my previous best.  A minute and a half under the the 35 mark I targeted for this race (I actually said sub 35..but you know what I mean).  Andy and I were talking after the race (before I knew my official time) and I said “I think my time was like 32 something.”  He said, I think it was in the 33’s.  I fully admitted to possibilities of having a delusional moment at the end though.  When I was done, I was really done.  I feel like I gave it everything I had. I pushed hard.  No regrets.

kb_hot_2

That’s the important part right.  I think it is.  I’m not too upset that I walked some because I still accomplished my goal time and I feel like I left nothing on the table.

On the upside, they had pizza at the end.  At first, I was like, there is no way I could eat pizza right now.  However, after cooling off for about 10 minutes and stretching, that pizza called my name.  So I went and got a slice and some fruit to even it out.  Nothing tasted so good in that moment.  We hung out and watched the awards (which we almost never get to do because of work) and headed back home about 8:30.

A few exciting points, we had an Olympian (ANTHONY FAMIGLIETTI) there and he broke the course record and ran it in a 14:30! That’s insanely quick.  He was finishing before I was even half way there.  It was very neat to hear about that and very cool that such a great athlete came out to run the Hot Summer’s Night 5k. Overall it was a very competitive race.  The times people finished in where just insane, and I realized that I need to shave off another 8-9 minutes really to be competitive in my age group.  That’s a lot of time.

After the race, while I was eating my pizza, we were also visited by a guy promoting another event.  The same people who do the Jailbreak Run are doing the Jailbreak Escape on September 7.  He was handing out flyers, so that’s really all the info I have to give, but it’s basically an obstacle course I think and they are allowing 2 person teams.  It says you can register on Strictly Running’s website, but they also have a facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/JailbreakEscapeUrbanChallengeRun 

Just thought it looked interesting and I’d pass it along.  I don’t think we will be able to do it because we have already signed up for so many other races this fall.

Anyway, this has gotten insanely long, but all in all I consider it a success and a very fun race.  Something we will more than likely be doing again in the future.  Thanks for sitting through this ridiculous recap.  I’ll try to be more brief in the future.  I hope everyone has had an enjoyable week and has a great week!

One thought on “Hot Summer’s Night 5k

  1. I didn’t feel like this post was that long at all? I’ve read a lot longer race recaps and written longer ones, but regardless… you don’t need to apologize.

    It sounds like you had a great race and congrats on your 33! Yes, it’s hard to be competitive in an age group, even for me and I run a 23 and some change untapered. But, it looks like you had a good time, a personal record is just that, *personal*, and as long as it is meaningful to you, that’s really what matters more than a medal or award. Heck, if I could PR in a 5K I’d take it over an AG award because that’s more about who shows up than how hard you’ve trained and how good of a race you won. The Olympian there was crazy fast too, but he has coaches and trainers, etc… he probably runs for a living. Some of the super fast ladies also have coaches.

    Post race pizza sounds pretty delicious to me. I’d also have to wait awhile though!

Leave a Reply

