Weekly Running Update

So, this will be more of a 2 weeks in one update.  Blogging has kind of gone by wayside lately and it’s time to get back on the wagon.

Last week (August 19 – 23) was the week after the Feed the Need 5k. Not a bad week.  Did about mileage I expected.  However, looking back, it’s made me realize that I kind of have had 2 low mileage weeks in a row…hmm..time to get back to work.

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: Rest Day
Tuesday: 4.67 Miles – Outside Run
Wednesday: Stretch Day
Thursday: 5.71 Miles
Friday: Rest Day
Saturday: Rest Day

Weekly Mileage Goals: 11 Miles

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 10.3 Miles

I intended to take Monday off so that I could have 2 full rest days since the race.  That was nice to have and it allowed me to feel fresh for training on Tuesday.  That was actually supposed to only be a 3.5 mile run, but I was running with my mom in a different area than I was used to and we got so lost.  Due to time, we actually had to have Andy come pick us up.  Next time I’ll stick to roads I’m familiar with.   My run on Thursday was pretty crappy.  I just could not get going.  My legs felt sluggish from the get go and my body nor mind did not want to cooperate.  It took a lot of mental pushing to do the distance..but there was a lot of walking in that run. Therefore I ended up taking Friday as a rest day as well.  I really just needed a few days to get my mind and body back in order.

This past week (August 26 – 30) was low, but mentally and physically it was much better.

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: 6.27 Miles – Outside Run
Tuesday: 3 Miles – Outside Run
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Rest

Weekly Mileage Goals: 19 Miles

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 9.27 Miles

Even though my actual was much lower than my goal…I was okay with that.  I realized that planning to do 19 miles this week was not realistic.  This coming Monday (Labor Day) I will be running my first 10k and I want to be as fresh as possible for that race.  I was going to get up Thursday morning and do a treadmill run, but changed my mind at the last minute for a few reasons.  One, we had a few late nights last week and my sleep was suffering; two, we were going to Charlotte on Thursday and would be walking around a lot.  The last thing I wanted to do was run a long treadmill run Thursday, then walk around all day..that didn’t sound like it was going to spell fresh legs for my first 10k. I’m really glad I didn’t because by the end of the day Thursday, my legs were beat from just walking around all day. We went to Bank of America stadium for the Steelers/Panthers preseason game and that involved a few trips up and down stairs.  I was really glad I didn’t run Thursday morning.

So yea, in two days I’ll run my first 10k.  I’m already having dreams about it.  I’m trying to stay ready and not let my nerves get to me.  I haven’t done that distance but once, but I feel confident in my ability to run it.  My easy goal is to run it in under an hour and ten minutes, but my challenging goal is to run it in under an hour and five minutes.  Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

