My First 6 Miler

Last Monday I ran my first run over 6 miles.  To say I was nervous was an understatement.  However, I was also very excited.  I was doing a completely new route as well and I was anxious to see how it went.

Normally I wouldn’t write a post just about one run, but this run was different.

The run started out pretty nice.  The weather was gorgeous.  I perfect cool temperature and the sun wasn’t really out for the first half of the run. Other than some small inclines…the run was predominately downhill it felt like for the first couple miles.  I was in for a rude awakening though around mile 3.  That’s when the hills started.  There must have been like 5 up and down hills between mile 3 and 4.  Having really only done gradual inclines…these hill’s were brutal! They definitely added some spice to my run.  Once I got to a point that I knew was going to be pretty flat until I got home, I was starting to get a little pumped.  I was doing 6 miles…WITH HILLS.  I finally felt like I was going to be okay with the 10k.

This run felt pretty special to me all week.  It felt like such a huge milestone and it had me on a running high all week.  I felt like no run was too long now.  I know it’s only 6 miles and I have a ways to go before the half and full marathons..but I’ve never run 6 miles in my life.  I don’t think I’ve even walked 6 miles in my life.  I am just so excited and pumped still.

I feel like I will actually make it on my 10k on Monday and I feel like I can go  in with time goals instead of just the goal of finishing.  I can’t wait to recap my first 10k next week.

Thanks for sitting through this self-indulgence post.  I’ve just never gotten that kind of high off a run and it felt blog worthy..so here it is.  Have you ever had a run that really sticks out to you as an awesome run?  Do you remember the run that really felt like a milestone to you?

One thought on “My First 6 Miler

  1. For me, it was my first 20 miler in marathon training. I’ve had a few runs stick out obviously, since I’ve been running for over 3 years now, but this one is the freshest since it was in July. It was the first run where I really felt like I could do the marathon, it gave me some confidence.

    And, I think it’s great you already ran 6 before the 10K because it gives you that mental boost at the start line that you can get through it. 6 miles is definitely a milestone just like running for an hour is, once you can do that you really can work your way up to longer distances like half marathons pretty easily.

Leave a Reply

