Running Updates

So in the past few weeks, my running has been on a weird roller coaster.  I’ll just go week by week of giving total miles and then any comments I have about that week.

September 1 – September 7

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: 6.2 Miles – Blythewood Labor Day Run
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Rest

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 6.2 Miles

After having a frustrating race…I took the rest of the week off.  Mentally I was beat and needed to get out of that slump to get motivated to run again.  It was a dark time that we

ek for running and I.

September 8 – September 14

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: 6.99 Miles – Outside Run
Tuesday: 3.63 Miles – Outside Run
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 7.14 Miles – Outside Run

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 17.8 Miles

This week was better, but I was still struggling to get to my 7 miles.  Whether it was time or motivation..either way…I was struggling  Saturday morning we had to leave the house early.  I was determined to get a decent run in though.  I wasn’t sure how far I was going to go and I allowed myself to leave it open so that I didn’t put the added stress on myself.  Secretly I wanted to hit the 7 mile mark, but I wasn’t ready to commit and tell anyone that was how far I was going.  I went out and did it though and my pace was really good.  Up to that point, my average pace for the longer runs was 11/mile or above.  This run was a 10:18 pace.  It was just really nice out and the run seemed to come easy.

September 15 – September 21

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 6.2 Miles – Run to Irmo – Dam Run

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 6.2 Miles

I don’t remember what happened or what was going on this week that made it so I didn’t run all week.  It’s just the way it worked out.  However, we did do the Dam Run that Saturday and it went

better than my first 10k.  I’ll recap more on that soon.

September 22 – September 28

Sunday: 3.7 Miles – City Run
Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Rest
Friday: 2.91 Miles – Recovery Run
Saturday: Rest

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 6.61 Miles

After the Dam Run we got cleaned up and drove to Charlotte to hop a plan to Pittsburgh.  I’ll post more on this experience and this trip soon.  The first morning we were in Pittsburgh, Andy and I got up and went for a short sightseeing run.  The pace was awful..but there was a lot of walking and stopping to see sights.  It was fun, but I was also coming down with an awful cold so it was starting to feel a little miserable.  That cold fed into the rest of the week.  I had the most awful congestion, felt feverish at times, achy, and just overall sneezing, coughing, etc.  I felt like death.  I didn’t start feeling remotely better until Thursday evening..so that’s why I attempted a run Friday morning.  My body wasn’t ready and I turned around sooner than planned.  It did help in getting stuff up and out of my chest though..so that’s a win.

September 29 – October 5

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: 7.29 Miles – Outside Run
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: 8.01 Miles – Outside Run
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 3.1 Miles – Palmetto Health 5k

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 18.4 Miles

This was an awesome week.  From having 2 down weeks basically, I was ready to get up and run…and run I did.  I ran Monday’s run at a 11:14 pace and Wednesday’s run at a 10:58 pace.  They both felt good and left me feeling strong afterwards.  Saturday we did a 5k with a friend of ours and I had a great race! I’ll recap it soon, but it was just full of all kinds of positive things.  I can’t wait to recap that one.  Saturday we also spent the day working on our new lot though, hauling trees and bricks.  By Sunday I was done and my legs were toast…I really needed a pair of compression socks for that day.

October 6 – October 12

Sunday: Rest Day
Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 7.5 Miles – Ray Tanner 12k

Actual Weekly Mileage Total: 7.5 Miles

I was planning to get one more long run in before the 12k, but when we were working on our new lot the Saturday before, I pulled a muscle in my lower back.  There were times through the week that I couldn’t walk hardly.  I was really worried about running the race.  I just kept applying ice and heat, having Andy massage my back, and doing gentle stretches and exercises to encourage the healing process.  I finally made the decision mid week that I was just going to go do my best and deal with the consequences after the race.  This was supposed to be my big race for the season, the race I have been training for, I wasn’t going to let this pulled muscle keep me from starting.  I’m really glad I didn’t because that race was AWESOME! I’ll recap it soon.

So that’s the running catchup.  I’m taking this week to work a new training plan.  The plan I had only took me to the Ray Tanner 12k.  However, there is a half I’m eyeing in December.  Once I can work a plan and do my research..we’ll see how realistic it is.  I’m ready to get running again.  After a great race, the bug has taken hold and my body want’s to get back out there.  I’m trying to give it a few days to rest though and trying to take a few days for my back to really heal.

2013 runs this far

I’ve included a screenshot of my 2013 running chart from map my run.  I am happy at the amount I’ve increased my running this year and I can’t wait to take it further. I will be back with regularly scheduled running updates next weekend.

Blog-Signature

One thought on “Running Updates

  1. Glad you’re running more but I hope you feel better soon! Sounds like you had something in your system making you sick and it was just one thing after another. Hopefully you can get pretty consistent soon for the December half, at least your pace is improving in the longer ones and you have nice months to train for a half (sure sucks training in the summer!).

Leave a Reply

