Marathon Training – Weekly Workout Recap

Good Morning! So this is a few days late, but such is life sometimes.  This week’s long run was a 15 miler.  My longest run to date.  It’s all distance records from here right?  Needless to say though, Sunday I was pretty much mush.  I did not feel nearly as light and bright as I did after last weeks run.  I made it through though and I’m still alive to tell the tale.

We’ll see how the rest of the long runs go, but I’ve realized that if I just focus on the mile I am in, I can get through it.  I did have one moment around mile 13 this week where I almost texted Andy to come pick me up whenever he got home from his run.  I started having this really bad pain on the outside of my left calf and it was brutal.  Even after the run, it was very sensitive to the touch.  Thankfully it’s pretty much gone away at this moment, but I’m a little concerned because I had no idea what it was.  It did’t really feel like a cramp or the general soreness that you feel and it didn’t hurt on the other leg.  I’m hoping it doesn’t come back this week.

As far the rest of the week, I did two other runs which isn’t great, but not awful.  Monday I ran 7 miles and Wednesday I ran 3.  The miles on Wednesday were tough.  I really didn’t want to go, but Andy helped motivate me and we got out the door together and knocked out 3.  It wasn’t the 5 I was supposed to do, but as Gary Vaynerchuck would say 1 is greater than 0.  The rest of the week didn’t go as well.  Also, we’ve moved our long runs to Sunday because we have more available time on Sunday mornings and we’ve got a few Friday night get togethers we don’t want to miss.

This coming week, my workout plan looks like this:

M-Rest

T-Rest

W-Run 6 Miles – Sub 12

T-Run 7 Miles – Sub 13

F-Run 6 Miles – Sub 12

S-Rest

S-16 Miles Sub 13:50

That said, I’m not sure Thursday’s run will happen because I have a morning meeting.  In regards to the pace goals, I did meet them.  My long run last week came in at a 13:10 and I really wanted to make sure I was under 14.  I was super bummed though because I was sub 13 for the first 13 miles.  Then that pain in my leg hit and it was downhill from there.

So I think that about wraps up this weeks workout recap.  Let me know in the comments below if you’d like more posts during the week about things other than my running.  I’m not the most interesting person in the world, but I am running a startup marketing company and that always has its excitement.  Otherwise, I’ll see next weekend.

Kristen Brumbaugh is currently training for the Marine Corps Marathon.  I am running under a charity bib for the Girls On The Run organization.  This will be my first marathon.  If you are interested in donating to my fundraiser for the Girls on the Run, please visit my fundraising page here.

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training – Weekly Workout Recap

Leave a Reply

