Marathon Training – Weekly Workout Recap

So it’s weeks like this that I kind of feel like a fraud in this whole marathon training.  The week got the best of me and I didn’t complete nearly the runs scheduled.  My Sunday long run got bumped to Monday (Labor Day) and it’s kind of thrown this week into a tailspin as well.

I only ran twice in what would be considered last week’s schedule.  Wednesday I did 3.7 miles.  It was supposed to be 6.  I was going to do a lap out to get the 3.7, come home and get Yota and take him for the rest.  Well the closer I got home, the more I realized I was losing precious morning light that I wanted for a photo shoot.  So I decided I would go home, do the shoot and then run with him afterwards.  That didn’t happen.  We instead went on a relaxing walk around the neighborhood.

The long run was 16 miles this week and that’s what I did (16.05 to be exact).  My goal was to keep my pace under 13:30 and it came in at 13:15.  While it was under goal, it was frustrating because again I was keeping it under 13 and then I hit a wall.  It was a mile later this week at Mile 14, but still when it hit, it was rough.  I’m just not sure what I’m doing wrong.  We set out water the night before to refill on the route and I drank plenty (I refilled all 3 bottles completely at least once-2 water, 1 nuun), ate a clif bar pre-run, and took gu at 4, 8, and 12.  I feel like I’m getting plenty in my body.  I stopped to stretch at Mile 11 as well.  I’m hoping that I don’t hit the wall this early in the actual marathon.

I was proud that I did 16 though.  That’s a lot of miles in my book.  This week brings more though.

So this week’s schedule is already off to a rough start.  I was supposed to do 6 this morning.  I did about 3.5.  There were just not 6 miles in my legs or my cardio this morning.  It was decently foggy too and I just felt like all of the fog and humidity was hanging on me. I’m glad I got up and did something though.  So here’s this week’s schedule.  I’m organizing it Tuesday – Monday since the long runs are moved to Monday’s for the next few weeks.

Tuesday – Yoga

Wednesday – 6 Miles (planned)

Thursday – 6 Miles

Friday – Rest

Saturday – Spin class w/ a friend

Sunday – Rest

Monday – 17 Miles

Wish me luck..I’m aiming to get something done on at least every day planned.  Last week I didn’t and I felt it on my long run.  My legs just felt like lead.

The countdown is on to the marathon.  Less than 2 months to go (45 days from today).  Excited for it, but kind of wish it was here.  I don’t know if I would make it, but I feel like my mental game on long runs is decently strong right now and I don’t want to lose it.

Until next week, I hope everyone has a great week.  Looking forward to the forecasted cooler temps in the morning next week.

Kristen Brumbaugh is currently training for the Marine Corps Marathon.  I am running under a charity bib for the Girls On The Run organization.  This will be my first marathon.  If you are interested in donating to my fundraiser for the Girls on the Run, please visit my fundraising page here.

One thought on “Marathon Training – Weekly Workout Recap

  1. Good luck with training and doing long runs on Monday. I think it’s really admirable when you can do a training schedule that’s not traditional, like Monday long runs, because it’s always hard to find people to run with or support you on the runs when it’s not Sat/Sun. I hope it cools down a bit for you and you can get some more mileage in and figuring out the bonking.

Leave a Reply

